When removing an archived version of a copy of an image object, the image file is removed from it's original location.
- Create and publish an image object
- Edit the object once more, and publish without modifying the image.
The files are stored in var/siteaccess/storage/images/ <original_path> /
- Create a copy of the image object
New files are created for the copy in var/siteaccess/storage/images/ <copy_path> /
- On this copy, delete version 1 of the object (manage versions, check '1', remove selected)
Note that the old version(s) may also be removed automatically when the maximum version history limit is reached.
Looking at the first image path, the original file has been removed.
When the object copy is created, only the ezimage attribute for the second version seems to be updated - version 1 still refers to the original object:
version 2 (correct):
version 1 (refers to the origin object):
Modify [CopySettings]/VersionHandling in content.ini, from 'all' to 'last-published'.
This way, there should be no reference of the original object's image in the new copy.